LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Systemic approach for process development of recombinant production of insect- associated peptides

Dr.-Ing. Denise Salzig

The use of insect derived antimicrobial peptides or derivatives of these peptides provides a promising alternative to known antibiotics in the fight against human pathogenic fungi or multiresistant bacteria. Currently most peptides are produced by solid phase chemical synthesis. This technique has various disadvantages and is not suitable for large amounts of biologically active peptides.

The largely unexploited opportunity for the recombinant preparation of peptides provides a lot of interesting research potential. Recombinant peptides are currently mainly produced in the laboratory scale utilizing E. coli. Through employment of bioreactor systems, process models and optimal process control, cost-effective scale-able bioprocesses capable of high space-time-yield become feasible. For process optimization a systemic and structured engineering approach provides tailor made solutions.

Our group is working on the creation of such systemic approaches for bioprocess development and intensification in the recombinant production of insect- associated peptides. One of our main goals is to bridge the gap between basic research and industrial production. After identification of promising insects associated peptides by the bioinformatics platform of the Fraunhofer group, a detailed bioinformatics analysis will provide important aspects for the up- and downstream process. The biotechnological workhorses of the production process will be E. coli, Pichia pastoris, and various insect cells.

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Systemischer Ansatz für die Prozessentwicklung der rekombinanten Produktion von insektenassoziierten Peptiden

Dr.-Ing. Denise Salzig

Der Einsatz von antimikrobiellen Peptiden aus Insekten oder Abkömmlingen dieser Peptide bietet für die Bekämpfung humanpathogener Pilze oder multiresistenter Bakterien eine Alternative zu bekannten Antibiotika. Die Herstellung von Peptiden erfolgt bisher zumeist durch chemische Festphasensynthese. Das hat diverse Nachteile und ist für große Mengen an biologisch aktiven Peptiden wenig geeignet. Die bisher wenig genutzte Möglichkeit zur rekombinanten Darstellung von Peptiden bietet viel Forschungspotenzial. Rekombinante Peptide werden hauptsächlich im Labormaßstab, meist in E. coli, produziert.

Nur mit Hilfe von Bioreaktorsystemen, Prozessmodellen und optimaler Prozesskontrolle sind kostengünstige Scale-up-fähige Bioprozesse mit hoher Raum-Zeit-Ausbeute umsetzbar. Zur Optimierung der technischen Seite des Prozesses bietet die Systematik und Struktur des ingenieurwissenschaftlichen Ansatzes eine angemessene Lösung.

Die Nachwuchsgruppe, die dem Geschäftsbereich „Produktentwicklung – Expression und Formulierung“ angegliedert ist, arbeitet an der Erstellung eines solchen systemischen Ansatzes für die technische und biologische Prozessentwicklung und -intensivierung bei der rekombinanten Produktion von insektenassoziierten Peptiden. Dabei ist die Forschung translational angelegt, um die Lücke zwischen Grundlagenforschung und industrieller Produktion zu schließen. Nach der Identifizierung vielversprechender insektenassoziierter Peptide durch die bioinformatische Plattform der Fraunhofergruppe werden mittels einer detaillierten bioinformatischen Analyse für den up- und downstream-Prozess wichtige Aspekte ermittelt. Die Expression soll sowohl in E. coli (löslich und in inclusion bodies) als auch in Pichia pastoris und Insektenzellen erfolgen.