LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Analytics of Chemical Defences from Insects and Insect Symbionts

Dr. Gerrit Joop

We are interested in the ecology and evolution of insects, focusing on their chemical ecology and external secretions. We also study the evolution of insect immunity, phenotypic plasticity, host–parasite interactions and resistance.

Projects:

Team 2015: Andreas Mitschke, Benedikt Eickhoff, Tilottama Biswas, Thorben Grau, Sara DeLeon, Prayan Pokharel, Gerrit Joop.


Analytics of Chemical Defences from Insects and Insect Symbionts

2014-2016

Insects can defend themselves against parasites and predators by the secretion of e.g. toxic substances.These substances, contrary to antimicrobial peptides, are mainly small molecules and have been widely neglected in the search for e.g. antimicrobial compounds until only recently. Furthermore, whiel some insects produce these substances themselves, in other species these defensive substances are produced with the help of symbionts, mainly bacteria and fungi. Here, in a knowledge-based approach, we are testing insect defensive sescretion for additional purposes and applications. We also investigate whether these secretions are produced by the insects or their symbionts and in the latter case identify the producing symbionts using classical microbiological approaches as well as molecular approaches, including next-generation-sequencing.

Involved people: Gerrit Joop, Thorben Grau, Sara DeLeon, Andreas Mitschke
Funding: LOEWE ZIB


Selective pressure on internal vs. external immune defense in Tribolium castaneum - experimental evolution using a microsporidian and a fungal parasite

2013–2016

The evolution of immune defense is currently one of the most interesting topics in evolutionary biology. The combination of evolutionary immunology and host–parasite co-evolution will deepen this understanding by taking immunology back to its natural conditions. This goes hand in hand with the recently-proposed hologenome theory and the importance of microbiota. However, external immune defense in non-social organisms is another aspect of immune defense that has been largely overlooked. This is an extended defense, outside of the body, reflecting e.g. behavioral changes or the secretion of antimicrobial compounds into the environment. Especially in the latter case, individuals not only act to their own benefit, but potentially also to the benefit of their offspring and other group members. Furthermore, external and internal immune defenses should ideally interact with each other. The red flour beetle, Tribolium castaneum, secrets broadly antimicrobial substances into the flour environment, and therefore displays such an external immune defense system. Previous studies suggest that external and internal immune defenses are well balanced under natural conditions, i.e. when there are parasites in the environment. Our research therefore focuses on the following questions:

  1. Whether external immune defense is under selection by parasites, and if different parasites shift external and classical internal immune defense in different directions.

  2. How the external and internal immune defenses are balanced, and if selection by multiple parasites causes disruption or stabilization.

  3. How the balance between external and internal immune defenses is mediated, and if there is an epigenetic mechanism.

These questions are being addressed through evolution experiments using T. castaneum, a microsporidian parasite and a fungal parasite, in three different concentrations each as well as a combined parasite treatment. During this experiment, we will study one external immune parameter and several internal parameters. Experimental evolution will be followed by transcriptomic and epigenetic analysis to understand how this is mediated. Answering these questions will provide valuable insight into the evolution of immune defense strategies in an ecological context.

Involved people: Gerrit Joop, Andreas Mitschke, Tilottama Biswas
Collaborators: Philip Rosenstiel (Kiel, Germany), Joachim Kurtz (Münster, Germany), Hinrich Schulenburg (Kiel, D), Erich Bornberg-Bauer (Münster, D)
Funding: DFG SPP 1399 Host-Parasite Coevolution


Corporate and individual immunity - understanding their relationship in a non-social insect, Tribolium castaneum

2010–2016

Tribolium beetles excrete quinones into their flour environment. Quinones show broad antimicrobial activity, and therefore can be considered as an external immune defense. We previously showed that the production of quinones is traded-off with the internal innate immune system, and that the excretion of quinones comes at the cost of reduced larval survival. Based on these findings, we are studying the function and evolution of external immunity in detail, by addressing four main questions:

  1. Does the secretion quinones enhance beetle fitness through the manipulation of microbial diversity in the flour and the beetle gut?
  2. What are the causes and consequences of trade-offs between external immunity and other aspects of immunity?
  3. How is quinone production regulated?
  4. Does external immunity represent a true corporate trait that benefits a group of unrelated individuals?

Involved people: Gerrit Joop, Andreas Mitschke, Prayan Pokharel
Collaborators: Hinrich Schulenburg (Kiel, D), Philip Rosenstiel (Kiel, D), Stanislav Gorb (Kiel, D), Arne Traulsen (MPI Plön, D) und Joachim Kurtz (Münster, D)
Funding: Volkswagenstiftung

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Analytik der chem. Verteidigung von Insekten u. Insekten-Symbionten

Dr. Gerrit Joop

Wir arbeiten an Ökologie und Evolution von Insekten mit den Schwerpunkten Externe Sekretion und Wehrsekrete, Evolution von Insekten-Immunsystemen, Phänotypische Plastizität, Wirt-Parasit-Interaktion und Evolution von Resistenzen.

Projekte:

Team 2015: Andreas Mitschke, Benedikt Eickhoff, Tilottama Biswas, Thorben Grau, Sara DeLeon, Prayan Pokharel, Gerrit Joop.


Selektionsdruck auf interne und externe Immunabwehr bei Tribolium castaneum – experimentelle Evolution mit einem Mikrosporidium und einem Pilz-Parasiten

2013–2016

Ein besseres Verständnis von Immunabwehr und deren Evolution ist eines der momentan interessantesten Themen in der Evolutionsbiologie. Die Kombination von evolutionärer Immunologie mit Wirt-Parasit-Koevolution wird unser Verständnis hierzu vertiefen, da es die Immunologie zurück ins natürliche Umfeld bringt. Dieser Ansatz geht einher mit der Proklamation der Hologenom-Theorie und der damit verbundenen Bedeutung der Mikrobiota. Ein dagegen bis heute weitgehend vernachlässigter Aspekt der Immunabwehr ist die externe Abwehr in nicht-sozialen Organismen. Externe Immunabwehr ist eine nach außen verlagerte Abwehr, z. B. verhaltensbedingt oder durch die Abgabe von antimikrobiellen Bestandteilen in die Umwelt. Insbesondere im letzteren Fall agieren die Tiere dabei nicht nur zu ihrem eigenen Vorteil, sondern potentiell auch zum Besten ihrer Nachkommen oder gar der ganzen Gruppe. Weiterhin sollte man annehmen, dass das externe und das interne Immunsystem interagieren. Der Rote Reismehlkäfer, Tribolium castaneum, gibt breit wirksame antimikrobielle Substanzen in seine Umwelt ab und verfügt damit über eine externe Immunabwehr. Wir konnten bereits zeigen, dass unter natürlichen Bedingungen so einer parasitierten Umwelt externe und interne Immunabwehr in Balance sind. Daraus folgend fragen wir hier,

  1. ob die externe Immunabwehr unter Selektionsdruck von Parasiten steht und ob verschiedene Parasiten die Balance zwischen interner und externer Immunabwehr in unterschiedliche Richtungen verschieben,
  2. wie interne und externe Immunabwehr ausbalanciert werden und ob diese Balance von Parasiten aufgebrochen oder stabilisiert wird,
  3. wie die Balance zwischen interner und externer Immunabwehr reguliert wird und ob epigenetische Effekte hier eine Rolle spielen.

Dies zu beantworten, setzen wir experimentelle Evolution von T. castaneum mit einem Mikrosporidium (Paranosema whitei) und einem Pilz (Beauveria bassiana) ein, jeweils in drei Konzentrationen und einem kombinierten Ansatz. Während des Experimentes werden externe (Chinon-Sekretion) und interne (Phenoloxidase, Dunkelheit der Kutikula, Hemmung von Bakterien und Pilzen) Immunparameter aufgenommen. Im Anschluss werden das Transkriptom und epigenetische Aspekte (DNA-Methylierung, Histon-(De-)Acetylierung, microRNAs) betrachtet, um Einblicke in die Regulation zu bekommen.

Die Beantwortung dieser Fragen wird uns wertvolle Einsichten liefern und zum besseren Verständnis der Evolution von Immunabwehr-Stategien, auch in einem ökologischen Zusammenhang, beitragen.

Mitarbeiter: Gerrit Joop, Andreas Mitschke, Tilottama Biswas
Kollaborationen: Philip Rosenstiel (Kiel, Germany), Joachim Kurtz (Münster, Germany), Hinrich Schulenburg (Kiel, D), Erich Bornberg-Bauer (Münster, D)
Finanzierung: DFG SPP 1399 Host-Parasite Coevolution


Gemeinschaftliche und individuelle Immunabwehr – zum Verständnis ihrer Interaktion in einem nicht-sozialen Insekt, Tribolium castaneum

2010–2016

Tribolium-Käfer geben Chinone in ihre Umwelt ab. Diese zeigen eine breite antimikrobielle Wirkung und werden daher als „externe” Immunabwehr betrachtet. Wir konnten bereits zeigen, dass die Produktion von Chinonen teilweise im Konflikt zur internen Immunabwehr steht und mit einer reduzierten Larvalentwicklung einhergeht. Darauf aufbauend möchten wir hier ein tieferes Verständnis der externen Immunabwehr gewinnen:

  1. Erhöht die Sekretion von Chinonen die Fitness der Käfer, indem sie die mikrobielle Diversität in der Mehl-Umgebung und im Darm reguliert?
  2. Was sind die Ursachen und Zusammenhänge zwischen externer Immunabwehr und anderen Aspekten der Insekten-Immunabwehr?
  3. Wie wird die Chinon-Produktion reguliert?
  4. Stellt externe Immunabwehr eine wirklich gemeinschaftliche Aktion zum Wohl einer Gruppe nicht-verwandter Individuen dar?

Dieses Projekt wird neue Aspekte zur Evolution von Immunabwehr aufdecken.

Mitarbeiter: Gerrit Joop, Andreas Mitschke, Prayan Pokharel
Kollaborationen: Hinrich Schulenburg (Kiel, D), Philip Rosenstiel (Kiel, D), Stanislav Gorb (Kiel, D), Arne Traulsen (MPI Plön, D) und Joachim Kurtz (Münster, D)
Finanzierung: Volkswagenstiftung