LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Industrial enzymes

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

The demand for industrial enzymes is growing continuously, including enzymes for the production of biofuels and fine chemicals. Insects, often in partnership with symbiotic microorganisms, can utilize virtually any kind of organic matter as a food source. Specialized insects have also evolved enzymatic degradation pathways for almost all pesticides and plant toxins, and for the destruction of pathogenic microorganisms. Insect hormones, pheromones, defense compounds and cuticle components are all synthesized with the help of specific and often unique enzymes. Most of these reactions cannot be replicated using conventional organic synthesis techniques.

Currently, the Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group is focusing on the following projects involving insect-derived enzymes:


Gluten-degrading enzymes

This is a collaborative project between the Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group and the research group led Prof. Holger Zorn (Justus-Liebig University Giessen). It involves the isolation of enzymes from grain pests and their utilization for the development of gluten-free foods.


Keratin-degrading enzymes

Keratin is the main component of feathers, wool and leather, and therefore large amounts of waste keratin are generated in the poultry and textiles industry, as well as accumulating in recycling clothes. The Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group is investigating strategies to recover value from such highly-resistant resources by utilizing enzymes from the symbiotic bacteria of the clothes moth.


Lysozymes

Lysozyme from the albumin component of domestic chicken eggs (commonly known as the egg white) is already widely used for food preservation. Its mode of action is based on the destruction of bacterial cell walls. The Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group is investigating potential uses for the ten different forms of lysozyme produced by the Asian ladybird beetle.


Biofilm-degrading enzymes

The formation of biofilms on implants, catheters and in hemodialysis devices is a leading cause of nosocomial infections. The Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group is investigating the potential applications of insect-derived biofilm-degrading enzymes, using model biofilms and analytical procedures for the detection of released carbohydrates.

Anke Gökçen


Coagulation-promoting enzymes

This is a collaborative project between the Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group and the research group led by Prof. Klaus T. Preissner (Justus-Liebig University Giessen). It involves the analysis of secretions from the blow fly Lucilia sericata, which include enzymes that activate the human blood clotting cascade.


Enzymatic production of hydrocarbons

Alkanes and alkenes are responsible for the water-repellent properties of the insect cuticle. Some insect species also use these compounds a pheromones or as components of defense secretions. The Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group is investigating the insect enzymes used to produce such hydrocarbons for potential applications in the biofuel industry.

Lea Talmann

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Enzyme für die technische Anwendung

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

Im Bereich der industriellen Biotechnologie besteht ein stetig wachsender Bedarf nach neuen Enzymen. Auch für die Biokraftstofferzeugung und die Synthese von Feinchemikalien werden in zunehmendem Umfang enzymatische Prozesse angewandt. Insekten sind – zum Teil mit Hilfe symbiontischer Mikroorganismen – in der Lage, verschiedenste Substrate als Nahrungsquellen aufzuschließen. Ebenso existieren bei entsprechend angepassten Insekten Abbaumechanismen für die meisten Pestizide und Pflanzengifte. Auch besitzen fast alle Insekten Mechanismen zur enzymatischen Zerstörung von potentiell pathogenen Mikroorganismen. Hormone, Pheromone sowie verschiedene Abwehrsubstanzen und Cuticulabestandteile werden bei Insekten durch enzymkatalysierte Reaktionen synthetisiert, die durch klassische organisch-chemische Verfahren nicht oder nur mit hohem Aufwand imitiert werden können.

Derzeit werden durch die Fraunhofer-Projektgruppe „Bioressourcen” folgende Projekte zur Entwicklung von Insektenenzymen bearbeitet:


Gluten-abbauende Enzyme

In Kooperation mit der Arbeitsgruppe um Prof. Holger Zorn (Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen) werden aus Getreideschädlingen Enzyme gewonnen, die für die Herstellung Gluten-freier Lebensmittel eingesetzt werden sollen.


Keratin-abbauende Enzyme

Keratin als Hauptbestandteil von Federn, Wolle und Leder fällt in großen Mengen bei der Geflügelzucht oder in Form von Altkleidern an. Für die Verwertung dieser äußerst widerstandfähigen Nebenprodukte werden Enzyme aus symbiontischen Bakterien der Kleidermotte untersucht.


Lysozyme

Hühnereiweiß-Lysozym wird bereits in großem Umfang für die Konservierung von Lebensmitteln eingesetzt. Der Wirkmechanismus beruht auf der Zerstörung von Bakterienzellwänden. Der Asiatische Marienkäfer ist in der Lage, zehn unterschiedliche Lysozyme zu produzieren. Diese werden im Hinblick auf mögliche Anwendungen untersucht.


Biofilm-abbauende Enzyme

Biofilmbildung auf Prothesen, Kathetern und in Hämodialysegeräten ist für einen Großteil der in Krankenhäusern erworbenen Infektionen verantwortlich. Die Auffindung Biofilm-abbauender Enzyme erfolgt mit Hilfe von Modellbiofilmen und durch Detektion freigesetzter Kohlenhydrate.

Mitarbeiterin: Anke Gökçen


Gerinnungsfördernde Enzyme

Im Sekret der für die Madentherapie eingesetzten Larven der Goldfliege Lucilia sericata wurden in Kooperation mit der Arbeitsgruppe um Prof. Klaus T. Preissner (Justus-Liebig-Universität Gießen) Enzyme identifiziert, die die menschliche Blutgerinnungskaskade aktivieren.


Enzymatische Kohlenwasserstoffsynthese

Alkane und Alkene kommen als wasserabweisende Komponenten der Insektencuticula vor. Außerdem dienen sie einigen Arten als Pheromone oder sind Bestandteil von Wehrsekreten. Eine mögliche Nutzung der an der Synthese beteiligten Enzyme für die Herstellung von Dieselkraftstoff wird untersucht.

Mitarbeiterin: Lea Talmann