LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Biosensors Working Group

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

Semiochemicals are chemicals that carry messages between organisms. Communication via semiochemicals is an important branch of chemical ecology because this process allows the accurate transmission and reception of information that enhances survival. Insect antennae are the most sensitive sensory organs that have ever evolved for the perception of semiochemicals, because communication among insects can involve messages encoded by exquisitely low doses of scent substances. Such biosensors allow insects to register the lowest concentrations of a particular scent molecule (e.g. representing the presence of food or a sexual partner) and to follow them along concentration gradients across huge distances to find the source. Even individual molecules can induce electrical impulses in the insect olfactory system, and these are passed on to the brain for processing.

Electroantennography

Electroantennography is a method that can be used to measure the output of individual insect antennae. The sum of nerve impulses produced by the antennae is conducted through ultra-thin electrodes to an amplification system and thus recoded. The Biosensors Working Group combines electroantennographic detection (EAD), gas chromatography (GC) and mass spectrometry (MS) into a unique portable system that allows the quantitative and sensitive detection of complex mixtures of scents in the environment - exactly as they are found under normal environmental conditions. The inclusion of mass spectrometry provides useful information on the composition of the scent substances. Our portable GC-MS/EAD device can be used for in situ measurements in any location.

Applications

One example of the application of our research involves the European grapevine moth (Lobesia botrana), which causes significant damage in wine-growing regions but can be combated using the dispersions of certain pheromones. With the help of the antennae of L. botrana we can measure such pheromones in vineyards even if they are present at concentrations well below the detection limits of the most sensitive commercial devices. In order to broaden the applications of this low detection threshold, trained insects are used that can reliably indicate the presence of certain substances through defined and measurable behaviours.


We also carry out research on the development of biomimetic sensors, focusing on the identification of key substances that insects use to discern particular events. Among the complex scent mixtures found in nature, insects perceive only those substances that provide unambiguous information. Having deduced which substances are registered by their antennae, we can create corresponding measuring devices including the adjustment of semiconductor gas sensors in such a way that these substances can be measured more sensitively and selectively.


Our research also focuses on the identification of specific volatile defensive compounds. For example, we are currently investigating the quinone-rich secretions of different species of earwigs, components of which have been shown to inhibit particular bacteria, fungi and nematodes.

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Biosensorsysteme

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

Die Kommunikation über chemische Botenstoffe ist ein wichtiger Bereich der Chemischen Ökologie, da das zuverlässige Versenden und Empfangen von Informationen das Überleben sichert. Insektenantennen gehören zu den empfindlichsten Sinnesorganen zur Wahrnehmung von Düften, die die Evolution hervorgebracht hat, denn diese Nachrichten sind bei bei Insekten über besonders niedrig dosierte Duftstoffe verschlüsselt. Mit diesen Biosensoren können Insekten geringste Konzentrationen bestimmter Duftmoleküle (z. B. von Nahrung oder Geschlechtspartnern) registrieren und so über große Distanzen zielgerichtet finden. Bereits einzelne Moleküle führen zu elektrischen Impulsen, die zur Verarbeitung an das Gehirn weitergeleitet werden.

Elektroantennografie

Bei der Elektroantennografie wird die Summe der Nervenimpulse in der Insektenantenne mit feinen Elektroden zu einem Verstärkersystem geleitet und aufgezeichnet. In der AG Biosensorsysteme wird die elektroantennografische Detektion (EAD) mit der Gaschromatografie (GC) und Massenspektrometrie (MS) in einem tragbaren System gekoppelt. Dadurch können im Freiland hochempfindlich Duftstoffe aus komplexen Gemischen, wie sie unter Umweltbedingungen vorkommen, nachgewiesen und quantifiziert werden. Eine Anbindung an die Massenspektrometrie ermöglicht einen zusätzlichen Informationsgewinn über die Zusammensetzung der Substanzen. Mit unserem tragbaren GC-MS/EAD kann man direkt vor Ort (in situ) messen.

Anwendungen

Zum Beispiel wurde der Bekreuzte Traubenwickler (Lobesia botrana) untersucht, der im Weinbau großen Schaden anrichtet und mit Pheromondispensern bekämpft werden kann. Mit den Antennen von L. botrana wurden in Weinbergen Pheromonkonzentrationen unterhalb der Nachweisgrenze sensibelster kommerzieller Analysegeräte gemessen. Um diese niedrige Nachweisgrenze breiter nutzen zu können, wird an trainierten Insekten gearbeitet, die bestimmte Substanzen durch definiertes, messbares Verhalten zuverlässig anzeigen.


Zusätzlich wird an der Entwicklung von biomimetischen Sensoren geforscht. Hierbei werden Schlüsselsubstanzen bestimmt, die Insekten nutzen, um ein bestimmtes Ereignis wahrzunehmen. Insekten nehmen von den komplexen Duftgemischen in der Natur nur die Substanzen wahr, die eine eindeutige Information übermitteln. Wenn bekannt ist, welche Substanzen von den Fühlern registriert werden, können entsprechende Messinstrumente gebaut werden. Hierzu werden Halbleitergassensoren so angepasst, dass sie diese Substanzen sensitiver und selektiver messen.


Ein weiterer Fokus liegt auf der Identifizierung der Einzelkomponenten von flüchtigen Wehrsekreten. Dabei wurden unter anderem die chinonhaltigen Sekrete verschiedener Ohrwurmarten untersucht, für deren Einzelsubstanzen zusätzlich eine Wirkung gegen bestimmte Arten von Bakterien, Pilzen und Nematoden nachgewiesen werden konnten.