LOEWE Center for
Insect Biotechnology
& Bioresources

Antimicrobials

Insects were able to develop their rich species diversity during evolution not least due to their efficient immune system, which protects them from natural enemies and allows many species to colonize even extreme habitats. A major task of the insects’ immune system is the defense against microorganisms and parasites, which it meets by the production of numerous antimicrobials.

While the number of bacteria resistant to antibiotics is continuously increasing, only few newly developed antibiotics are available due to the high expenditure of time and money. Antimicrobial peptides (AMPs) from insects with different modes of action might qualify as alternative agents for fighting human-pathogenic microorganisms. Insect AMPs, which exhibit activity against phytopathogenic fungi or insect pests, can be used in plant protection. Another goal would be the discovery of antimicrobials, which are suitable for food preservation.

Our research aims at the identification and characterization of insect AMPs, which can be utilized for the above mentioned areas of application. The recombinant production of selected AMPs allows the subsequent analysis of their activity spectra and modes of action.

Recombinant production, purification und functional characterization of antimicrobial peptides

Functional analysis of X-Tox peptides from Lepidopterans

Determination of AMPs’ modes of action

Antimicrobial peptides and their application in aphid control


Recombinant production, purification und functional characterization of antimicrobial peptides

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas, Team member: MSc Anne Pöppel

Insects produce many antimicrobial peptides when their immune system is challenged. These peptides may show activity against human pathogens, but in order to test them it is necessary to produce these molecules in larger quantities using heterologous expression platforms. Bacterial expression systems usually achieve high yields of recombinant proteins with relatively little effort, but in many cases they are not suitable for the production of antimicrobial peptides because the products are toxic to the host cells, making cultivation impossible. Additional difficulties arise when the peptides require posttranslational modification (e.g. the formation of disulfide bonds). In such cases, insect cells offer an ideal alternative for production.

There are two different insect cell expression systems established in the Fraunhofer Bioresources Project Group, both of which can be used for the production of antimicrobial peptides. In the Drosophila Expression System (DES), the gene of interest is stably integrated into the genome, and when the promoter is activated, the gene is transcribed and the protein is produced. In the Baculovirus Expression Vector System (BEVS), recombinant insect viruses are used to introduce the gene of interest into moth cells. The virus promoter ensures strong transgene expression during the late phase of the infection cycle. In both expression systems, the recombinant proteins are usually secreted into the culture supernatant. from which they can be isolated and purified by chromatography.

The Peptides are isolated and purified from the cell culture media or from bacterial lysate by chromatography. In order to determine the peptides' activity spectra, their effect on the growth of different microorganisms like bacteria, yeast and fungi is investigated.


Functional analysis of X-Tox peptides from Lepidopterans

Dr. Mohammad Rahnamaeian

X-Tox peptides have been isolated from different genera of only Lepidoptera. Structurally, they consist of several cysteine-stabilized alpha beta (CS-αß) motifs ranging from 4 to 11 (as known so far), which refers to as X in X-Tox terminology. Despite the notable induction of X-Tox gene expression upon microbial challenges, apparently these peptides lack antimicrobial properties. In order to characterize these peptides, we are focused in-part on recombinant production of X-Tox peptides in insect cell lines and their purification from the culture supernatant to eventually analyze their biological activities using insect models. Based on X-Tox peptides’ structural similarity to scorpion toxins, we assume that one of the X-Tox biological significance may perhaps be disturbing the function of ion channels in parasitoids of Lepidopterans. This hypothesis is currently under investigation using Apis mellifera, Schistocerca gregaria, and Galleria mellonella models.

Determination of AMPs’ modes of action

Dr. Mohammad Rahnamaeian, Team member: MSc Mohammad Reza Bolouri Moghaddam

Antimicrobial peptides (AMPs) of different kinds contribute to host immunity in microbial challenges based on their specificities to different target proteins. Additionally, they have immune-modulatory functions. Through different modes of action, AMPs affect the susceptible microorganisms by intemperance of trans-membrane electrochemical ion gradients, inhibition of protein and/or DNA syntheses, membrane permeabilization and rupture, induction of reactive oxygen species, etc. Therefore, identification of the target proteins of AMPs in microorganisms helps us better understand the pathophysiology of diseases. On the other hand, elucidation of action modes of AMPs contributes to developing  effective pharmaceutical leads in order to deal with multidrug resistance of super-microbes. In our lab, we are using different techniques, e.g. microscopy, biochemical analytical tools, yeast two-hybrid system, etc. to identify target proteins of different AMPs in microorganisms.


Antimicrobial peptides and their application aphid control

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

Aphids take up sieve element sap from plants. This diet has a low content of essential amino acids. For this reason, aphids show a close symbiosis with bacteria. Especially the endosymbiotic bacteria of the species Buchnera aphidicola are of importance in this context, because they metabolize non-essential into essential amino acids. Elimination of these bacteria by application of antibiotics to the aphid shows a reduction of growth, development and reproduction.

The aim is to induce such an effect by feeding of antimicrobial peptides. Reduced aphid fitness leads to lower infestation of crops, potentially below an economically relevant infestation level, resulting in reduced application of insecticides.

LOEWE Zentrum für
Insektenbiotechnologie
& Bioressourcen

Antimikrobielle Wirkstoffe

Das Insektenreich hat im Laufe der Evolution nicht zuletzt deshalb einen so immensen Artenreichtum entwickelt, weil die Ausbildung eines effizienten Immunsystems ausreichenden Schutz gegen natürliche Feinde bietet und vielen Arten die Besiedelung auch extremer Lebensräume ermöglicht hat. Die Verteidigung gegen Mikroorganismen und Parasiten ist eine wesentliche Aufgabe des Immunsystems, der es durch die Produktion zahlreicher antimikrobieller Wirkstoffe nachkommt.

In der Medizin wird eine stetige Zunahme Antibiotika-resistenter Bakterien beobachtet, während neue, auf herkömmlichem Wege entwickelte Antibiotika aufgrund des hohen Zeit- und Kostenaufwandes nur in geringer Zahl zu Verfügung stehen. Antimikrobielle Peptide (AMPs) aus Insekten können möglicherweise als alternative Wirkstoffgruppe mit unterschiedlichsten Wirkmechanismen im Kampf gegen humane Pathogene genutzt werden. Neben der medizinischen Nutzung können AMPs aus Insekten beispielsweise auch im Pflanzenschutz eingesetzt werden, wo sie gegen phytopathogene Pilze sowie Schadinsekten wirken. Ein weiteres Ziel ist es, diese Wirkstoffe für die Konservierung von Lebensmitteln nutzbar zu machen.

Gegenstand unserer Forschung ist es, AMPs in Insekten zu identifizieren, die für die genannten Anwendungen in Frage kommen. Die Herstellung ausgewählter AMPs in rekombinanter Form ermöglicht im Folgenden die Untersuchung des Aktivitätsspektrums der Moleküle und ihrer Wirkmechanismen.

Rekombinante Herstellung, Aufreinigung und Testung antimikrobieller Peptide

Funktionsanalyse von X-Tox-Peptiden aus Schmetterlingen

Aufklärung der Wirkmechanismen antimikrobieller Peptide

Antimikrobielle Peptide und ihre Anwendung für die Kontrolle von Blattläusen


Rekombinante Herstellung, Aufreinigung und Testung antimikrobieller Peptide

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas, Mitarbeiterin: MSc Anne Pöppel

Insekten produzieren im Rahmen der Immunabwehr eine Vielzahl antimikrobieller Peptide. Um deren Potential für die Bekämpfung humanpathogener Mikroorganismen untersuchen zu können, müssen die Peptide in ausreichenden Mengen hergestellt werden. Strukturell einfache Peptide, können in bakteriellen Expressionssystemen erzeugt werden, sofern sie das Bakterienwachstum nicht verhindern. Mit vergleichsweise geringem Aufwand kann man auf diese Weise hohe Proteinausbeuten erzielen. Für viele antimikrobielle Peptide sind bakterielle Expressionssysteme allerdings nur bedingt geeignet. Die antimikrobiellen Eigenschaften der Peptide können dafür verantwortlich sein, dass die Kultivierung der Wirtsbakterien unmöglich ist. Zusätzliche Schwierigkeiten treten auf, wenn die Peptide posttranslationale Modifikationen (wie z. B. die Ausbildung von Disulfidbrücken) erfordern. In solchen Fällen stellt die Proteinproduktion in Insektenzellen eine geeignete Alternative dar.

In der Projektgruppe „Bio-Ressourcen” des Fraunhofer IME sind für die Produktion antimikrobieller Peptide zwei Insektenzell-Expressionssysteme etabliert: Im Drosophila-Expressionssystem (DES) wird das interessierende Gen stabil in das Genom der Fliegenzellen integriert. Nach Aktivierung des Promotors wird das Gen transkribiert und das Protein produziert. Im Baculovirus-Expressionssystem (BEVS) werden insektenzellspezifische Viren eingesetzt, um das Peptidgen effizient in Schmetterlingszellen einzubringen. Der gewählte Promotor gewährleistet die starke Expression des Gens in der späten Phase des Infektionszyklus. In beiden Expressionssystemen werden die rekombinanten Proteine üblicherweise in das Kulturmedium abgegeben.

Aus dem Medium der Insektenzellkultur bzw. aus Bakterienlysat werden die Peptide mit verschiedenen chromatographischen Verfahren isoliert und gereinigt. Um das Aktivitätsspektrum der Peptide zu ermitteln, wird schließlich die Wirkung auf das Wachstumsverhalten verschiedener Mikroorganismen wie Bakterien, Hefen und Pilze untersucht.


Funktionsanalyse von X-Tox-Peptiden aus Schmetterlingen

Dr. Mohammad Rahnamaeian

X-Tox-Peptide wurden bisher aus verschiedenen Insektengattungen, dabei aber nur aus Schmetterlingen aufgereinigt. Strukturell bestehen sie (soweit bekannt) aus 4–11 Cystein-stabilisierten αβ-Motiven. In der Terminologie wird das X jeweils durch die tatsächliche Anzahl dieser Motive ersetzt. Obwohl die Expression der X-Tox-Gene durch mikrobielle Stimuli stark induziert wird, zeigen die Peptide offenbar keine antimikrobielle Aktivität. Um diese Peptide zu charakterisieren, werden sie zunächst rekombinant in Insektenzelllinien hergestellt und aus dem Kulturüberstand aufgereinigt. Anschließend wird die biologische Aktivität der X-Tox-Peptide in Insektenmodellen untersucht. Auf die Strukturähnlichkeit mit Skorpiongiften gründet die Annahme, dass X-Tox-Peptide die Funktion von Ionenkanälen von Schmetterlingsparasitoiden stören. Diese Hypothese wird zurzeit an verschiedenen Modellinsekten getestet.

Aufklärung der Wirkmechanismen antimikrobieller Peptide

Dr. Mohammad Rahnamaeian, Mitarbeiter: MSc Mohammad Reza Bolouri Moghaddam

Antimikrobielle Peptide (AMPs) verschiedener Klassen tragen durch ihre Spezifität für ganz unterschiedliche Zielmoleküle zur Immunantwort eines Wirtstieres auf eine mikrobielle Infektion bei. Darüber hinaus haben sie immunmodulatorische Funktionen. Über verschiedene Wirkmechanismen stören AMPs z. B. transmembrane Ionengradienten, sie inhibieren die Protein- und/oder DNA-Synthese, permeabilisieren und zerstören Membranen, induzieren die Produktion reaktiver Sauerstoffspezies, etc. Insofern hilft uns die Identifizierung der Zielproteine von AMPs dabei, die Pathophysiologie von Krankheiten besser zu verstehen. Andererseits trägt die Aufklärung der Wirkmechanismen von AMPs dazu bei, effiziente Leitstrukturen gegen multiresistente Supermikroben zu entwickeln. Zu den Methoden, die wir in unserem Labor einsetzen, um Zielproteine verschiedener AMPs zu identifizieren, gehören u. a. Mikroskopie, biochemische Analyseverfahren und das Yeast Two-Hybrid System.


Antimikrobielle Peptide und ihre Anwendung für die Kontrolle von Blattläusen

Prof. Dr. Andreas Vilcinskas

Blattläuse nehmen Nahrung aus den Siebelementen der Pflanzen auf. Da der Siebelementsaft arm an essentiellen Aminosäuren ist, besteht eine enge Symbiose mit Bakterien. Hierbei sind vor allem die endosymbiontischen Bakterien der Spezies Buchnera aphidicola von großer Bedeutung, da diese in der Lage sind, nicht-essentielle in essentielle Aminosäuren umzuwandeln. Eliminiert man diese endosymbiontischen Bakterien durch Fütterung von Antibiotika, so reduziert sich die Fitness der Blattläuse (Wachstumsrate, Entwicklung, Reproduktion).

Ziel der Arbeit ist es, einen solchen Effekt über die Fütterung von antimikrobiellen Peptiden zu erreichen. Die eingeschränkte Fitness soll dazu führen, dass der Befall von Nutzpflanzen reduziert und so die ökonomische Schadschwelle nicht überschritten wird. Dies führt zu einem verringerten Einsatz von Insektiziden.